ENMU Foundation and Alumni Association give awards

The 2018 ENMU Foundation, ENMU Alumni Association, and ENMU Educator Hall of Honor Awards were presented at the ENMU Foundation Homecoming Breakfast during homecoming week. ENMU alumni came from all around the U.S. to celebrate with the award recipients over breakfast.

Award recipient Kenneth Chancellor traveled from his hometown of Moriarty to be inducted into the Educators Hall of Honor, alongside Socorro Herrera.

“I am very humbled and honored by this,” said Chancellor during his induction.

“I had a great experience at Eastern, and I truly enjoyed my teaching over the years. I continue to teach, and it has gotten easier over the years. As your teaching career goes along, you get to touch more students, and if we can bring back the industrial arts to all schools, my mission will be accomplished.”

Chancellor graduated from ENMU in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in industrial education. He returned to Moriarty as an industrial arts teacher at Moriarty Middle School and then transitioned to a local high school. Chancellor then became a National Board Certified Teacher in 2008, which is a significant achievement and unusual within his field of teaching expertise.

According to the Educators Hall of Honor inductor, Chancellor is “a lifelong educator who continues to bring passion, enthusiasm and high standards to his vocation shop classes every day,” who involves his students with community service projects, making it a point to give back to his school, district and community, and he has touched the lives of thousands of students over the course of his 30-year career.

Six other recipients were honored for their achievements during the remainder of the homecoming breakfast.

  • Business of The Year was awarded to Christian House Foundation

  • Philanthropists of the Year to Ron and Sarah Holcomb

  • Volunteer of the Year to Terry Othick

  • Distinguished Service Award to Lonnie Alexander

  • Honorary Lifetime Award to Patrice Caldwell

  • Outstanding Alumni Award to Mike Smartnick

  • Educators Hall of Honor to Socorro Herrera

More News